Giggs’ follows up last year’s ‘Wamp 2 Dem‘ mixtape with new album ‘Big Bad…’ . The heavyweight record features Gashi, Jadakiss, Kristian Hamilton, Theophilus London, Labrinth, Ghetts, Lil Yatchy, French Montana, Swizz Beatz and Wretch 32.  It’s a slightly more polished version of Giggs we hear on ‘Big Bad…’; it’s the kind of album that could see The Landlord properly cross the atlantic.  His flow remains almost completely changed; it’s every bit as assured and satisfying, but those hoping he’d step outside his comfort zone will be disappoined [unless you count the singing on ‘Spun It’].  We’re not mad though – there isn’t a weak link on ‘Big Bad…’, which for an album that’s 18 tracks long really is going some.  Highlights include Ghetts’ verse on ‘Run Me Down’, Labrinth-featured ‘Don’t Go Hungry’, the harder than hard ‘Gwop Expenses’ and the Soul-sampling ‘Show Me Respect.’  Even Lil Yachty’s verse is solid.  Only for an album this good would we be willing to forgive artwork that bad.  Stream below via SoundCloud.

What are you saying?

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s